Meet the Team: Academic Staff

The College staff represent a balanced complement of experience and dynamism. Dedication, commitment, passion and expertise are qualities common to the teachers, coaches and administrative staff. The College is in a fortunate position to attract highly qualified and motivated staff when vacancies occur. Academic staff members have extensive experience with the Independent Examination Board examinations through their involvement as examiners, markers and moderators with 32 currently serving in one of these capacities (2022). This contributes to Kearsney’s academic excellence.


Mr P Lees – BA BEd (Hons) PGCE


Mrs C Vermeulen: HDE MEd – HOD Accounting
Mr B Steyn: BCom HDE – Accounting / Director of Rugby / IEB Senior or Sub-examiner Accounting P1


Mrs S Cairns: HDE – HOD Afrikaans / IEB Sub-examiner P1
Mr M Badenhorst: BA (Ed) –  Mathematics / Afrikaans / Housemaster, Haley

Mr S Pietersen: BA (Hons) – Afrikaans
Mr H van Ellewee: BEd (Hons) HDE FDE – Afrikaans
Mr N van Heerden: BEd – Afrikaans
Mr A van Zyl: BA HDE – Afrikaans / IEB Sub examiner P2 / Grade Head Grade 12


Mrs J Hicks: MTech PGCE – HOD Visual Arts
Ms L Langa: BTech – Drama / Visual Arts / Design and Technology

Business Studies:

Mr W Marsden: HDE – HOD Business Studies
Ms A Fripp: BCom HDE FDE ACE – Business Studies / Director of Clubs and Culture

Mr A Kemp: BEd HMS – Business Studies/EMS (Part time)


Rev. Kym Bishop: BTh (Hons) MTh PGCE


Mrs K-J Coleman: B Soc Sci (Hons) M Soc Sci – Counselling / Life Orientation


Ms U Singh: BA (Hons) – HOD Dramatic Arts
Mrs E Stockil-Smith: MA PGCE – Dramatic Arts / English
Ms L Langa: BTech – Drama / Visual Arts / Design and Technology

Engineering Graphics and Design:

Mr D Moodley: HDE – HOD EGD/ IEB Moderator EGD
Mr M Delport: HDE FDE – EGD / IEB Senior Sub-examiner EGD P2
Mr V Sookdavu: BEd – EGD


Mrs J Curtiss: BA HDE – HOD English / IEB Sub-examiner P2
Ms N Arndt: BA (Ed) – English / i/c Dayboys
Mr J Beaumont: BA (Hons) HDE – English

Mr S Ngema: BCom (Hons) LLB, PGCE – English
Mr N Makhathini: BA PGCE – English
Mr N Mahabeer: BEd – English / House Master, Sheffield
Mr A Morgan: BA (Hons) PGC – English / Grade Head Grade 11 / IEB Sub-examiner P1
Mr A Ryan: BA (Hons) PGCE – English
Mr M Saville: B Journ (Hons) PGCE – English / Grade Head Grade 10 / IEB Sub-examiner P2
Mrs E Stockil-Smith: MA PGCE – Dramatic Arts / English


Mr M Savage: BEd – HOD Geography
Mr W Amos: BA (Hons) HDE – Geography
Mr J Robinson: BA HMS – Geography

Mr T Boyce: BEd – Geography


Mr N Peacock: BA (Hons) HDE – HOD History / IEB Senior Sub-examiner History P2
Mr J Waldburger: BA PGCE – History / Finningley Housemaster / IEB Sub-examiner History P1

Mr K Ngema: BEd (Hons) – History


Mrs M Venter: BEd Psych (Hons) – Inclusion Programme / Academic Support


Mr B Ndaba: BPaed, PGDPI – HOD isiZulu / IEB Examiner isiZulu
Mr M Zungu: BSS (Hons) – Deputy Headmaster /  i/c Community Outreach/ isiZulu
Mr S Mtshali: BEd – isiZulu

Information Technology:

Mrs C Elliot: MSc PGCE – HOD Information Technology

Life Sciences:

Mr D Macdonald: BSc (Hons) HDE – HOD Life Sciences / IEB Sub-examiner Life Sciences P1
Mr D Sookdeo: BSc (Hons) PGCE – Life Sciences

Ms D Fihlela: BSc PGCE Life Sciences / Life Orientation

Life Orientation:

Mr S Edwards: HOD Life Orientation
Ms D Fihlela: BSc PGCE Life Sciences / Life Orientation


Mrs R du Plessis: BSc PGCE – Grade Head Grade 8 / HOD Mandarin / Mathematics
Ms J Li: Mandarin


Mr M Ancillotti: BSc HDE – HOD Mathematics
Mr P Kirsten: BSc HDE FDE – Senior Deputy Headmaster / Mathematics
Mr A Willows: BSc HDE – Deputy Headmaster / Mathematics
Mr M Badenhorst: BA (Ed) – Mathematics / Afrikaans / Housemaster Haley
Mrs R du Plessis: BSc PGCE – Mathematics / HOD Mandarin / Grade Head Grade 8
Mrs V Govender: BEd (Hons) – Deputy Head / Head of Academics / IEB Sub-examiner AP Maths
Mr S Green: BEd (FET) – Mathematics / Housemaster, Pembroke / IEB Sub-examiner Maths Lit P2
Mrs S Hotz: BSc PGCE – Mathematics
Mr N Nkabinde BEd (Hons) – Mathematics / Physical Sciences
Mr A Prinsloo: HDE – Mathematics / Housemaster, Gillingham


Mr B Kruger: MMus, LRSM UPLM PG Cert – Director of Music 
Mr J Brolin: MMus, Head of Subject Music and Orchestra
Mr D Langley: B Prac Mus (Hons) – Piano Studies / Accompanist

Physical Science:

Mrs S Murray: BSc (Hons) HDE – HOD Science / IEB Science Examiner Phys Science
Mr S Main: HDE – Science
Mr G Moerdyk: BEd (Hons) – Housemaster, Sheffield / Science / IEB Sub-examiner Phys Science P1
Mr B Thompson: HDE SecEd FDE ACE – Grade Head Gr 9 / Science