Story of Kearsney Hockey

The first recorded Hockey matches played by Kearsney were in 1963. In that year two matches were played, against DHS and Hilton. The sport grew in popularity over the following years with regular fixtures against Glenwood, Mansfield and Beachwood taking place. Present traditional rivals Maritzburg College and Michaelhouse had yet to offer the sport.

Kearsney now fields ten teams that play every Saturday in the Hockey season. The 1st XI is a core school of the Founders Hockey Festival and the U14A team is a regular participant in the Ken Florens Festival hosted by Northwood. The U16A team also always plays in a Hockey festival during the Easter holidays.

In 2001 Kearsney laid a synthetic hockey pitch near the main entrance of the College. The initial funding for this project resulted from a generous bequest to Kearsney College from Mrs Christine Mason, hence the field is named “The Mason Astro”. In 2011 the pitch was replaced and while this was being done a “dug-out” for the technical area was built. This facility was donated to the school by a group of parents (two of whom were Old Boys). The field also has floodlights which were funded by the “Friends of Hockey Trust”.

At present the facility is home to the Kearsney Hockey Club (Mens and Ladies) and our ten school teams. The building next to the pitch, now fondly called the “Hockey House”, apart from changing facilities, kit room, tuck shop and viewing deck has a memorabilia room where blazers kindly donated by our national players and pictures of the 1st teams are displayed.

The Kearsney 1st XI has embarked on a number of overseas tours. In 1975 and 1993 the team toured to Zimbabwe, while in 1990, 1999 and 2002 the team toured to Europe and England. In 2011, 28 players making up the 1st team and a youth development team went to Malaysia and Singapore. The 1st XI have also played annual matches against the Mike Madsen XI and the KCOBs since the 1990s.

South African Men’s Outdoor
Jonathan Lowe 1968
Paul Logan 1985
Greg Pilling 1992
Justin King 1995
Wayne Madsen 2004
Lloyd Madsen 2007
Greg Last 2013
Nqobile Ntuli 2017; 2018; 2019; 2021 2022
Guy Morgan 2022

South Africa U21 Outdoor
Guy Morgan 2021 (Captain)
Calvin Davis 2022

South African Schools Players (U18) Outdoor
P Gladman 1968
I Cole 1969 (B Team – Capt)
Paul Logan 1980, 1981, 1982
Craig Livingstone 1980
Greg Pilling 1981
Peter Gibson 1981 (B Team)
Mark Pearse 1981 (B Team)
Craig Grinyer 1983, 1984, 1985 (Capt ’85)
Mike Phillips 1986
Wayne Dollar 1987 (B Team)
Justin King 1993
Hedley Young 1997
Scott Power 1999 (B Team)
William Tsolo 1999 (B Team)
Wayne Madsen 2001 (B Team) and 2002 (A Team)
Lloyd Madsen 2004
Greg Last 2008
Ryan Wallace 2012 (B Team) and 2013 (A Team)
Nqobile Ntuli 2014
Lyle Jarvel 2016 (B Team – Captain)
Keanan Naidoo 2017 (B Team)
Steven Conway 2018
Guy Morgan 2018 (B Team)
Ben Proctor 2018 (B Team)

South African U17 Players
Lyle Jarvel 2015
Guy Morgan 2017

South African U16 Players
Hedley Young 1995
Wayne Madsen 1999
Rowan Moran 1999
Lloyd Madsen 2002
Carl Hirsch 2003 (B Team)
Michael Dawson 2006
Greg Last 2006 (B Team)
Joshua Perry 2007, 2008
Scott Drew 2009
Craig Kirsten 2010
Ryan Wallace 2010
Bili Ntuli 2012
Ru Baker 2012
Lyle Jarvel 2014
Blake Tyack 2014
Luke de Vlieg 2015
Jeremy Foord 2015
Guy Morgan 2016 (Captain)
Chase Kelly 2017 (HP squad)
Calvin Davis 2019 (Squad)
Matthew de Oliveira 2022 (Squad)
Tom McKenzie 2022 (Squad)