A leading independent traditional high school for boys.

Latest News

Excellent results for the Class of 2017

We are delighted to report that the Class of 2017 has achieved outstanding results in the IEB NSC Examinations and done the College proud. We thank them for their contributions in all areas over the past five years and wish them all the best for the future.

Read the full details.

(Pictured left) TOP CLASS with 58 distinctions between them. Back Robert McConnell (6), Bradley D’Eramo (7), David Comrie (8), Wandile Linda (3), Kuhle Bophela (5), Emil Loubser (6), Matthew Pitcher (6); and front Ntinga Tshabalala (6), Nic de Beer (6) and James Young (5).

Kearsney recognised for Maths and Science Excellence

The College was honoured to receive a Certificate of Excellence from the University of Pretoria for placing in the Top 16 of all schools in South Africa, independent and state, in Mathematics and Physical Sciences in the final 2016 examinations. Our Maths and Science Excellence Programme has consistently placed Kearsney among the top performers in the country and we are very proud of our academic excellence.

Kearsney Choir ranked 12th in the world

Congratulations to Marshell Lombard and the Kearsney College Choir who were announced by the international organisation, INTERKULTUR, to be ranked the 12th best choir in the world. What an amazing achievement! Congratulations to the Stellenbosch University Choir, which topped the global list.

Connor Wilson (21) will be SA’s sole representative at the 2018 Winter Olympics in Pyeongchang, Korea. He will take part in Alpine Skiing. Connor will be skiing in the Slalom and Giant Slalom alpine ski races on 18 and 22 February respectively.

Connor attended Kearsney until Grade 10 in 2013, when he left to go to school in Johannesburg. He is currently studying veterinary science at the University of Vermont in the USA.

KZN Cricket Selections 2017

Congratulations to the seven Kearsney boys who were selected to the KZN Coastals Cricket teams:
U18 – Luke de Vlieg and Patch McGrath
U17 – Carl Heunis and Robbie Koenig
U15 – Jean-Luc Talbot, Cade Carmichael and Matthew Murray

We wish you all the best for the rest of the cricket season.

KZN Water Polo Selections 2017

Congratulations to the five boys who were selected for KZN Water Polo across the age groups and the two boys selected as non-travelling reserves.

The teams will be playing in the SA School Water polo tournament in Port Elizabeth from 08-12 December.

U19B – Nic Baines and Taine Buys
U16 non travelling reserves – Oliver Kenny and Josh Muller
U15 – Tyson Andrews and Wesley Marshall
U14 – Luke Ambler-Smith

Pictured (L-R): Nic Baines, Wesley Marshall, Josh Muller, Taine Buys, Tyson Andrews, Luke Ambler-Smith and Oliver Kenny.

Speech Day September 2017

At our annual Speech Day and Grade 12 prize-giving 16 awards of Colours and 13 Honours awards for academics were presented. Six boys achieved Honours Cum Laude.

The boys pictured all achieved Honours Cum Laude: David Comrie (Dux of School), Calvin Engelen, Dom Ferri, Luca Ferri, Alex Veltman and Bradley D’Eramo (Runner-up to Dux)

Two more Golds for the Kearsney Choir

In July 2017, the Kearsney College Choir returned from the 10th Orientale Concentus International Choral Festival in Singapore with two Gold medals!

The Choir won the Folklore Category with a score of 92.2 (Gold Grade 1). No other Choir earned a Grade 1 Gold in any category at the Festival.

In their second category (B2 (Equal voices – Youth), the Choir finished second with a score of 81.3. This earned them a Gold (Grade III).

We are very proud that you kept the Kearsney Choir flag flying high, boys and staff.

Read our dedicated Choir tour blog.

Springbok selection for Dan and Jean-Luc (KCOB 2013)

Congratulations to Daniel and Jean-Luc du Preez who have been selected to the Bok squad for the Rugby Championship. Daniel (pictured right above) is in line to make his Springbok debut while Jean-Luc made his debut against Wales last year and played in the home series against France in June this year. The twins celebrated their 22nd birthdays on Saturday 05 August 2017. We wish them and all the Boks all the best for the Championship.

KZN Under 17 Sevens Squad

Congratulations to Jacques Odendaal for his selection to the KZN U17 Sevens team as a backline player. This is a fantastic achievement. Jacques was the Kearsney U18 team captain when the Matric were not playing.

SA Schools Rugby selection

Congratulations to Dylan Richardson who has been selected for the SA Schools rugby team at flank. The team will face Wales, France and England in the U19 International Series in August 2017. We wish the team all the best for the series.

Five Kearsney boys selected for provincial rugby teams

Congratulations to the Kearsney rugby players who were selected for various KZN rugby teams.

U18 Craven Week: Dylan Richardson (top left)
U18 Academy Week: Sibusiso Sangweni (bottom left), James Sutherland (top right) and Ross Taylor (not pictured)
U16 Grant Khomo Week: Oliver Carmody (bottom right)

Provincial Basketball Selections

At the final round of the KZN basketball trials the following selections were announced:
U18: Kuhle Bophela and Levi Donjeany
U16: Ayoola Morakinyo and Jed Hayman

Congratulations boys.

Pictured left to right: Levi, Kuhle, Ayoola and Jed.

National Tennis Selections 2017

Congratulations to the following boys for their provincial selections:
U19A:     Kade Mindry
U15A:     Luc Koenig
U15B:     Shail Chetty

Following the inter-provincial tournaments, Kade Mindry  was selected to the SA U17 Tennis team and Grade 8 pupil Luc Koenig who was selected for the SA U14 tennis team and as a reserve for SA U15. Congratulations on these excellent achievements.

National Hockey selections

Three Kearsney hockey players were selected for SA Schools’ teams.

Keanan Naidoo SA U18B team
Guy Morgan SA U17 team
Chase Kelly SAU16 HP squad

Congratulations boys!

Provincial Hockey selections

Congratulations to the 25 Kearsney hockey players who were selected for various KZN and KZN Coastal Hockey teams.

Read more: 

SA Men’s Hockey selection for KCOB

After a national hockey selection camp the team to play in the Hockey World League Semi Finals was announced. We are delighted to learn that Bili Ntuli (2014) has been chosen to represent South Africa. This event is a World Cup qualifying tournament and will be held in Johannesburg from 08 to 23 July. Australia, Germany, Spain and Belgium among other countries, will take part.

KCOB Top MBA student at Stanford

We were proud to learn of the fantastic achievements by Monde Nkosi, Kearsney’s headboy of 2007. He graduated in June 2017 as one of the top students in his MBA Class at Stanford University in the USA. This meant he was designated an Arjay Miller Scholar, becoming one of the first black South Africans to achieve this prestigious award.

Monde also completed his Masters in Education at Stanford during this time.

Monde epitomised balance and all-round excellence at Kearsney. Monde came 9th in SA in the National English Olympiad in 2006. He earned Academic Honours Cum Laude in 2007 and matriculated with six distinctions.

Monde represented KZN Athletics in 2005, played 1st team rugby, 1st team basketball (Captain) and 1st team soccer. He was awarded the coveted “Best All-rounder Award ” and the “Ambassador’s Trophy” in Grade 12.

Pictured above: Monde Nkosi with mother Nomsa, wife Nyaki, daughter Nkanyezi and father Phillip

Fast Facts